The Little engine that could….

To give everyone a little bit of History, My name is Terry Speller, And I am Co-Owner and MC of CPW.

When I was a boy I used to watch “World of Sport” on LWT/ITV/Granada watching the likes of “Big Daddy” and Kendo Nakaski etc and then my parents got SKY TV and I saw WWF/E and my love of wrestling just grew and grew, I found VHS tapes of WCW and later ECW getting more and more hooked on everything the “business” had to offer then I found TNA/ROH/FIP and then started watching NWA/AWA/WCCW etc learning the history of the “sport”.

Skip ahead to 3 years ago and I went to see my first LIVE show in Plymouth for PWA:UK where I saw “Kid Kash” in a great match against Danny Walsh.
From seeing the show, and speaking with the owners, I realized I wanted to part of the world, more then just a fan.

From there I grew a strong friendship with the owners, we had more in common then just the wrestling world, he soon took me under his wing, showing me some (not all!) of the thing’s that go on behind the scenes in his company, one I was soon to become part of.

In November 2012 I stood in front of my first crowd, MC for PWA, honored to be part of the company, I did my best and hoped it was enough.
Over the next 2 years, I settled in as MC, soaking in all the knowledge from John Harding, as well as some of the wrestlers, who went out of their way to advice, listen and shout at me! It’s been hard but worth it, to know the do’s and don’ts, the in’s and out’s.

In this time I was given the chance to work with some great names like Joey Ryan, Sabu, (who was stood in lounge at one time, surreal moment)  had a meal with Gunner, been out drinking with James Storm and had a burger King and 5 hour car ride with “Kid Kash”.

Now, 3 years in, I am holding my own show in Cornwall, (with the support of PWA!) A place people have tried to run shows at before to little to no success,
A county that people have said “don’t bother doing” We have taken the risk, ignored those that said it’s not worth it, and we are aiming to put on a show that the fan’s will walk away from with a buzz and looking forward to the next.
We are not planning huge show’s, we know there are other promotions around the country that have “BIG” American stars and hold shows in front of crowds of 500+.
In Cornwall we understand this is not something that will happen and as such we are setting out to bring you Great action and fun and the Best of British each and every show, be it in front of 50,100 even 200 people.

As long as the people of Cornwall want Wrestling.
CPW will be here to deliver.
See you all on July 26th in Wadebridge School Hall, Cornwall.

Leave a comment